A vested interest

Today I’m trying out one of my recent acquisitions:

Photo 55

  • Go-to olive green turtleneck, Old Navy, fall 2007. I wear this thing at least once a week, sometimes more, from October to March. You wanna make something of it? There is no shame in wearing and wearing and wearing your basics. Drab colors help to hide the coffee stains. 
  • Vintage brown vest and skirt set. This set is handmade out of some sturdy, stretchy synthetic fabric. The skirt has a subtle pattern, the vest is just a solid color. The rivety things on the vest are purely decorative. I actually tried this on a year ago and really liked it, but thought I’d be crazy to buy it. On Monday I went back to the same store and it was still there! Both pieces together for $20. Clearly it was fate. I love this outfit. I don’t care if the vest is silly. I feel like Diane Keaton, or perhaps like a troubled New York school teacher in a gritty ’70s movie (and what a glorious feeling it is). Trust your instincts, even if they are weird. You will never regret inexpensive, flattering clothes that fill your heart with joy. 
  • Brown tights, Meijer, March 2013. I took my own advice and bought some new tights.
  • Born boots, Christmas gift 2007. I wear these constantly, and it’s starting to show. They’re badly scuffed on the outside and there’s a huge crack in the insole. They go with everything. Brown leather riding-style boots are a basic necessity of life. 
  • Necklace: two Danish kroner coins on a silver chain My dad made this for me–a souvenir from our last big trip together as a family in the summer of 2004. Danish money is awesome! It has hearts and swirls on it. Jewelry and accessories (purchased or jerry-rigged) make memorable, useable, easy-to-pack souvenirs from your travels.
  • Earrings: hard to see, but tiny gold pair purchased in Toledo, Spain, 1999. One of the best souvenirs teenage me ever purchased. I didn’t wear them for years, but now they are a staple. Never get rid of stuff you bought when you were in middle school. You will want it one day. Maybe. 

Here’s what it looks like without the vest:

Photo 56

This skirt is amazing. High waist, a-line, forgiving fabric, perfect length. It is not normal to find a skirt that fits me like this. It’s like it was made for me.

Confession: I think it might have been. Or rather, I think it might have been made for my historical doppelgänger. I bought this outfit at Apple Annie’s Vintage Clothing and Jim MacDonald’s Antiques in Depot Town. It’s the third outfit I’ve gotten there. All three come from the same era. All three of them fit me perfectly. Two of them are handmade. So my theory is that some crafty woman exactly my shape and size was running around the Detroit metro area looking awesome in the ’70s. Apple Annie bought from her estate, and now I’m acquiring her wardrobe, piece by piece.

5 thoughts on “A vested interest

  1. An undergrad acquaintance recen Ty said to me: “I want to make my first serious leather boot investment. Should I go black or brown?” T houghts, oh wise ones?

    • Oooh boy. Good question. I think this is a decision every woman (or man!) has to make for herself.

      Kind of like silver or gold jewelry, I think most people reach a point where (even though you probably own and wear both), you know what your go-to tone is. It’s different for everyone, and depends on your coloring, maybe your age and what’s most popular at the time, and what color most of your other stuff is, for ease of matching.

      My first serious leather boots (the boots in “Chameleon in Boots”) were a deep, warm brown that looks almost burgundy/purple in the sun.

      Like most fashion choices, I don’t think this is a decision for the rational mind. You have to go with your gut. And with whatever color is available when you find the perfect boots (or they find you).

  2. Pingback: Take the A-Line | Chameleon in Boots

Leave a Reply

