Have a blue tights kind of day

I bought these electric blue tights a few weeks ago during my two-days-off-let’s-start-a-blog-and-go-shopping mania. Actually what I wanted was jewel tones–teal or purple–but Meijer didn’t have those.

I guess this is what you get for buying your hosiery at the grocery store instead of at, I don’t know, American Apparel, where the tights palette (42 colors!?) makes me think of David’s Bridal’s. (Oooh, there’s a crossover marketing opportunity that seems underexplored. Can you imagine the hipsters in coordinated chiffon and complementary tights? Maybe they could take the lining out of all the dresses to make them more transparent.)

Next time I want bright tights maybe I’ll venture into American Apparel. But for now, I have to figure out how to wear the ones I got. Sam loves them (or at least I assume that’s what it means that he bursts out laughing every time I wear them), but so far I’m a little ambivalent.

The first time I wore them, I went with all dark neutrals, so the tights were pretty much the main event: Image

  • Dark gray Calvin Klein sweaterdress, gift from my mother-in-law, winter 2011 (there was a period in our lives where every time I saw my mother-in-law she presented me with a gray sweaterdress. Not that there’s anything wrong with that)
  • Ombre blue beaded choker (slightly better picture below), The GetUp Vintage, Ann Arbor, fall 2012.
  • Wide black braided fake leather belt, Meijer ca. 2012. Another example of my ongoing struggle with belts. Maybe I need to invest in better ones…?
  • The blue tights, 2013.
  • Super fluffy and soft chenille black socks, stocking stuffer ca. 2007. The tights are footless, so I have to wear socks with them. This is a new thing for me, and I kind of like it. I can wear tights and have warm, cozy feet? Whoulda thunkit?
  • Black Bare Traps ankle boots, DSW, fall 2012, as described elsewhere in this blog.

Here’s a better picture of the choker. I actually really liked how this worked: the blue of the choker went with the tights, and all of the beads fit right into the v-neck of the dress:

Image

This look worked, I think, although every time I went by a mirror or window I was startled by my legs.

This past week, I tried something a bit different:

Photo 99

  • Bright green turtleneck, Old Navy ca. 2009
  • Plaid wool dress/jumper, American Eagle, purchased vintage from The Mix, spring 2012. 
  • Skinny reversible belt (black on one side, brown on the other), Target ca. 2010
  • The blue tights
  • The black socks and Bare Traps again.

This whole outfit was built around the jumper. Usually when I wear it, I go with black tights and a red turtleneck. The red totally contrasts with the green, blue, and black in the pattern. It works, but I basically look like a Christmas present–so much so that when I wore it for Thanksgiving dinner (seemed festive and seasonal to me!) people actually told me I was dressed for the wrong holiday. There is a tiny bit of bright blue running through the pattern that would tie the plaid to the tights, and I was trying to take advantage of that.

I think the mistake here was the turtleneck. The two bright blocks of color sort of compete with each other and with the plaid, and I feel a little like a box of crayons. It would have been better, maybe, if I’d gone with a neutral on top. But what? Black? Gray? White? Should I have worn a white button-down instead of a turtleneck? I have a more olive green turtleneck that would blend with the plaid more subtly, but it would totally clash with the tights.

I can see in theory how I could make this outfit better, but I can’t actually pin down how I would do it in real life.

What do you think I should do? What’s your favorite color of tights? And where do you get them? (Do I really have to go to American Apparel?)

14 thoughts on “Have a blue tights kind of day

  1. With such a high-impact color on your legs I think you’re best off sticking with something like the sweater-dress. With the jumper, no matter what top you put with it, you are going to look “color-blocked” and chopped up (IMO anyway!). I love bright tights and look for them everywhere. I do have a couple pairs from AA but most of mine have come from Target. Cheaper than AA but better selection than Meijer!

    • Thanks for your comment! I think you’re probably right about how to wear these tights. I will definitely keep my eyes open at Target. Last time I looked the selection was pretty picked over (in fact, I went to Meijer after not finding what I wanted at Target). But maybe with the new season that will change!

      • I agree with knitish – as a fellow “loud” tights-wearer, I generally stick to solid dresses or skirts to offset the bright legs. If they’re patterned, I’ll occasionally add a coordinating cardigan to tie the look together.

        I recommend Target as my tights supplier of choice – they have both low-end (hot pink leopard print – not that I own these), mid-range (solid jewel tones), and professional (traditional black, navy, nude, plus patterns) at pretty reasonable prices. (You can sometimes catch the higher priced ones on clearance at change of season – awesome time to stock up!) My only catch is that sometimes they offer the brighter colors in the “footless” variety only, which is annoying, but it can be camouflaged by wearing tall enough boots.

        Also, holy man, “camouflage” is the most non-intuitive word to spell.

  2. I agree with knitish – as a fellow “loud” tights-wearer, I generally stick to solid dresses or skirts to offset the bright legs. If they’re patterned, I’ll occasionally add a coordinating cardigan to tie the look together.

    I recommend Target as my tights supplier of choice – they have both low-end (hot pink leopard print – not that I own these), mid-range (solid jewel tones), and professional (traditional black, navy, nude, plus patterns) at pretty reasonable prices. (Youcan sometimes catch the higher priced ones on clearance at change of season – awesome time to stock up!) My only catch is that sometimes they offer the brighter colors in the “footless” variety only, which is annoying, but it can be camouflaged by wearing tall enough boots.

    Also, holy man, “camouflage” is the most non-intuitive word to spell.

  3. I’m not a “shapewear” user, but I recently discovered that Spanx makes tights. Though not cheap, they are very well made and available in a range of work-appropriate colors and patterns.

    PS: Coordinating Cardigans FTW

    • I will check these out! I noticed your purple legs yesterday. Were these examples of the Spanx line? Did you know that the founder of Spanx is the world’s youngest female self-made billionaire?

      • Oh, those purple ones are an old pair of JCrew tights. I’ve bought a lot of JCrew tights over the years, but I find the quality to be really inconsistent. :-/

      • After thinking about it… I guess the only thing I can think of that would be less-than-appropriate for work would be fishnets maybe? Bright colors are definitely OK. 🙂

  4. Pingback: I saw the neon sign | Chameleon in Boots

  5. Pingback: And in the fourth year, it rose again from the dead | Chameleon in Boots

Leave a Reply

