Emergency haircut!

I realized at 4:30 today that I had an appointment for a haircut at 5:30. Sigh. I’m going out of town for a conference tomorrow and because I always leave everything to the last minute, there is lots to do to get ready. So at first I was annoyed about losing several hours of my evening to the haircut (several hours because I have to walk there after work, then wait my turn, get the haircut, wait for the bus, and enjoy the 45-minute ride home).

However, this haircut was extremely necessary:

Photo on 4-2-13 at 4.52 PM

sad, scary hair!

So then I became absorbed in trying to decide what kind of haircut to get.
I decided I wanted a Kate Beckett, somewhere between Season 3 when it was all mullett-y and season 4 when it started getting all flowy, wavy, and highlighted (don’t even get me started on the Barbiefication of Kate Beckett, it makes me so angry…).

hair

Shoulder length, lots of layers. Can I get a skeptical look and an NYPD badge with that?

Then I walked into the salon and said to Jen, “Oh, I like yours, just give me that.”

This is nothing new for me. I am prone to impulsive haircuts. I’ve been doing this periodically since I was 9 years old. I’ve shaved my head. I’ve gone for the pixie, and then gone back again for the shorter, edgier pixie. I’ve done Locks of Love twice in the last 7 years. I’m not scared of drastic cuts, and I’m not sentimental about my hair. It grows back. That is what hair does.

But for some reason today I was nervous and a little sad. Maybe because I made the decision so suddenly. This is like two years of hard work, right down the drain! At least it feels that way. I don’t know why it feels like an achievement to resist for a really really long time chopping off the keratin that pushes its way out of your scalp without your assistance. It does, though.

I almost changed my mind before she started, and I got a little lump in my throat (what!?) when I saw all the hair on the floor. So much hair. I wish I had taken a picture, but I didn’t want to be a freak.

I’m glad I went for it: 305950_708567752797_396200705_n

So much better. Better for spring, better for looking professional and well-groomed. I’m feeling all the more ready for the conference. (Though I bet I’d feel even better about things if my presentation were done….sigh).

I have so much hair. This cut made Jen 20 minutes late for her next appointment. Sorry, person behind me!

9 thoughts on “Emergency haircut!

  1. Thanks, friends! I’m already feeling slightly remorseful–I’m happy with the cut, per se, but just realizing I’ve doomed myself to a ponytail-less summer, for the fourth (fifth? sixth?) summer in a row. Ah, well!

Leave a Reply

