Bad Decision Thursday: That straw hat

How did I get here? 

I bought this hat at Orchid Lane in one of my typical spring shopping frenzies. It promised some glorious combination of summer fun and retro glamour. But it just wasn’t quite what I thought it would be.

Where did I go wrong? 

  • Shape: The dome-like top and the downturned brim remind me of a pith helmet with a ribbon in it. I wanted something between Ashley Judd and Ashley Olsen, but instead I got Dr. Livingstone, I presume?
  • Proportions: The hat part of this hat is too big, and the brim is an awkward medium width. It looks small compared to the hat part. It’s wide enough to be unwieldy, but not wide enough to be awesome.
  • Portability: This is supposed to be a beach hat, but how do I get it to the beach? It’s made of real straw, so I can’t pack it in a suitcase without crushing it. But the wide brim makes it hard to wear on a plane or in a car.

How can I make a summer straw hat work for me? 

  • The hat needs to be either bigger or smaller than this one. On my next beach trip, I went with a straw fedora, which looked cute on the beach and on the plane, and offered better sun protection than I expected. If, on the other hand, I want to go for a truly wide, floppy hat, I need to go big or go home. 
  • Unless you live at the beach (I don’t) the hat needs to be either small enough to wear on the plane (like the fedora) or made of a flexible, crushable material, so you can shove it in your suitcase.

How does this fascinating story end?

The hat is the back of my closet. I’ll continue to wear my little fedora to the beach, and to ogle the giant floppy hats I see at Meijer.

2 thoughts on “Bad Decision Thursday: That straw hat

  1. Get a giant floppy hat. I have two, one in royal blue and the other in a more “natural” color. The natural one is certainly more wearable, both because it isn’t royal blue and because it is made of something crushable so I can pack it when I beach. Nothing is better than a huge ridiculous hat to go with huge ridiculous sunglasses!

Leave a Reply

