The Dressence of Life

If you could turn me into a casual work dress, it would probably look exactly like this:

Photo 187Let’s see, sweaterdress, check, cowlneck, check, pockets, check, cute belt detail, check (not that you can see it). Bright colors (including teal and yellow), check, art deco-y stained glass window pattern, check, check, check.

It’s by Luna Claire, purchased at The Pod, in uptown Normal, IL. I put it on in the dressing room, stepped out, and said to the cashier, “I would like to buy this dress I am wearing.” And wore it for the rest of the day.

The back is the best part:

Photo 188

Note: when I was a freshman in college, I was in a thrift shop and I spilled a melted scented candle all over myself (because that is just what I do. Ask me how I almost dropped a gravy boat full of salad dressing on my boss this week). This turned out to be a major college dorm floor bonding experience, as Cristie taught us all the magic trick of putting a paper towel down over the spilled wax, a wet washcloth on top of the paper towel, and then ironing the spot. It melts the wax and as the water evaporates, the wax gets sucked out of the fabric onto the paper towel! Seriously, it works.

Anyway, unfortunately, it couldn’t do anything about the obnoxious cinnamon spice scent, which followed me every time I wore that jacket, for years.

Well, this store, The Pod, smelled exactly like that freaking candle. And my dress was in the store for who knows how long, and retained the scent. I haven’t washed it yet (do you always wash your new clothes before wearing? I never do. Well, clearly, since I wore it out of the dressing room), and today the candle smell is hovering around me like a cloud. Hope it fades soon!

Leave a Reply

