With the Greatest of Ease

Monday was the first day of 2013 where you get out of the shower in the morning and immediately start sweating, and you’re all clammy and sticky, and your clothes are all damp and tangled up, before you even manage to get dressed. Welcome, summer! I needed something to wear that touched my body as little as possible. I didn’t have a muumuu but I did have this trapeze dress:

Photo 237

  • THEME trapeze dress, purchased at a boutique in Evanston, IL, November 2010. I bought this dress while wandering around after the Chicago Colloquium on Digital Humanities and Computer Science. Because what is digital humanities and computer science without chiffon? Strangely, I can’t find anything about this company or designer online. The collar is trimmed with two rows of tiny brass beads, which you can see here, and little flower-shaped brass spangles, which you cannot.
  • Gray cropped pants, Old Navy ca. 2010? 2011? This is the perfect use case for these pants. I like the length of these and the cut through the leg, but the waistline is weird. So, cover it up!
  • Navy leather flats, The GetUp Vintage, purchased summer 2012. I’m going to wear these things into the ground. And then get another new set of heels tacked onto the bottom and wear them into the ground again.

I was really pleased with all of this! The dress didn’t meld with my skin, and it’s the first time I feel like I’ve really worn it correctly. I’ve been wary of it ever since a daring but perhaps ill-advised attempt to wear it to a wedding. Unless drinking heavily, I’m just not comfortable wearing it on its own. But I have never been able to figure out exactly what sort of pants/leggings/tights would best provide more coverage without taking away from the dress. This worked out well, I think.

One thought on “With the Greatest of Ease

Leave a Reply

