Shall I compare thee to a….?

I’ve been hearing this earwormy summer tune, all Chevys and cutoffs, autotune and Nelly, a lot lately:

Baby you a song
You make me wanna roll my windows down and cruise

A nice image, but it doesn’t compare (ahem) to some of my favorite metaphor-laden love songs. Among the best, or at least the most, um, crowded, are: 

“If I Were a Bell” from Guys and Dolls

There was a period of time in my life (ca. 2006) when I spent a lot of time wandering around my college campus moony-eyed and singing this to myself.

Key line: “If I were a salad, I know I’d be splashing my dressing.”

“The Way You Do the Things you Do,” by The Temptations

The first time I really paid attention to this song was in 8th grade when I did a report on the Temptations. Mrs. Brown, the coolest music teacher ever, was at least 75 years old, wore approximately size 13 shoes, and taught an elective on the Beatles every year. This report was one of our assignments. I was 13 and much of the silliness of this song went right over my head, if that makes any sense. I was sure there must be some deep hidden meaning underneath it all, that I was just missing, or mis-hearing, something that would make it all make sense.

Key line: “If good looks was a minute, you know you could have been an hour”

“Take it from Me,” by the Weepies

Sam discovered this one. His favorite line is “A toast to the plans we made to live like kings.”

Key line: “What can I compare you to? My favorite pair of shoes, maybe my bright red boots if they had wings.”

What are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

