Fall Floral

Here’s another attempt to adapt my summer wardrobe for autumn wear:

Image

  • Green wraparound cardigan, Target, summer 2009. This poor sweater seems to be called into duty every time I need to fall-ify something.
  • Pink? Red? Salmon? Coral? floral print chiffon dress, Old Navy, spring 2012. This is my current go-to summer dress, second in my heart only to that blue dress.
  • Purple tights, Meijer, fall 2013
  • Purple Doc Martens! Purchased at a shoe store in Oxford, September 2013. I have wanted these for years, and finally this fall, after being sick through a conference and surviving a stressful conference call, I decided I deserved them. And in that short time they have become my new trademark. I get compliments almost every time I wear them–sometimes even from other people!

Hmmmm. So, this dress actually has both green and purple accents in the pattern but I see from far away that you can only see blue and yellow. Instead of looking pulled together, then, I kind of just look like I decided to wear literally every color in the rainbow. (Except for indigo, obviously. Should I grab a jean jacket to complete the look?).

Photo on 10-17-13 at 8.04 AMAlso, I’ve been wearing this purple legs and boots combo at least once a week for about a month now (clearly I am really into purple right now…), and I sure wish someone had told me I look kind of like a clown! Must try other colors such as brown, gray, black, and teal….

And, finally, the neckline–this dress has a v-neck that is exactly the same cut as the sweater, so except for a tiny peek, you really can’t see it at all. Leaves things feeling a bit unbalanced up top, I think.

So, overall, I think this one worked better in my head/in the dim light of my bedroom at 7 a.m., than it does under fluorescent lights. But it’s worth trying again, with minor modifications.

V-neck leaving a little too much to the imagination. Silver and malachite earrings, from 10,000 Villages in Bloomington, IL, summer 2005.

V-neck leaving a little too much to the imagination. Silver and malachite earrings, from 10,000 Villages in Bloomington, IL, summer 2005.

Update: While I was waiting at the bus stop, a guy in a Wendy’s visor told me, “I like your combinations!”

2 thoughts on “Fall Floral

Leave a Reply

