Breakfast that sticks to your ribs

I like to eat the same thing for breakfast, day after day after day after day, until I can’t take it anymore and switch to something else for the next six months. Right now, I’m going off of toaster waffles with peanut butter and berries and shifting into the oatmeal zone.

I’ve always liked hot cereal. My mom can’t stand it, and my dad doesn’t eat breakfast, so I don’t know where this comes from. But from a very, very young age I was really into the Quaker Oats instant oatmeal variety packs. Then thanks to the magic of the college dining hall experience, I discovered Cream of Wheat and (that crème de la crème of hot cereals!) CoCoWheats.

I don’t spend much time thinking about grits. We don’t see a lot of grits up in these northern parts.

But like I said–at heart I’m an oatmeal girl. Here’s how I do it these days:

Step 1: Boil 3/4 c. water and add 1/4 c. steel cut oats.

Simmer for 20-25 or 5-7 minutes, depending on whether you are a purist or a cheater like me

Simmer for 20-25 or 5-7 minutes, depending on whether you are a purist or a cheater like me

Ever since I realized that those Quaker instant oatmeal packets (1) don’t feed a cat, let alone an adult human, (2) are a racket, and (3) seem to be made by packaging up the remains of a toilet paper tube after it’s been processed by a hamster (no wonder they have all those fancy flavors!), I’ve pretty much been a steel cut oats girl. Don’t call me a hot cereal snob, though: I use the quick-cook kind. Look, it’s a workday. I leave the house at 7:30. I’m not getting up at the crack of dawn just to boil my oats.

Step 2: Check the fridge for the remains of pumpkin puree left over from those cookies you made before. No mold? Smell OK? Great! Stir a teaspoon or two into your oatmeal.

DSC03681

Pumpkin has vitamins and fiber and stuff, right? Or at least color.

Step 3: Pull the old standbys out of the pantry. I buy these in bulk in eat them with everything. 

"Or even plain!" ~Fred Astaire, Holiday Inn

“Or even plain!” ~Fred Astaire, Holiday Inn

Step 5: Make some Nutella toast to help fill you up and to make sure you’re consuming enough fat with your meal to absorb your vitamin D supplement!

DSC03683

(PSA! According to my doctor everyone who lives north of Atlanta is Vitamin D deficient! Winter is coming, and with it, rickets!)

Step 6: Enjoy with coffee, preferably in a mug crafted by a friend. 

3 thoughts on “Breakfast that sticks to your ribs

  1. The references to the Coco Wheats song and My Cousin Vinnie warm my heart.

    Did you know that you can make steel cut oats in advance (in a crock pot? in a rice cooker? in the oven? maybe all three?) and keep them in the fridge for reheating? Not that I have ever done such a thing. In fact, I am generally dealing with overflowing steel cut oats in the microwave, so you are already waaay ahead of me. Yours look delicious, though.

Leave a Reply

