Chameleon in Boots!

ImageI’ve lived in Michigan for close to 7 years (and in Illinois all the years before that), and just bought the first actual snow boots of my adult life. I’ve been (not) getting by with hot pink galoshes with a threadbeare fuzzy lining, courtesy of Meijer, since 2006.

These are Ahnu Northridge boots, 30% off today at REI. On the pricey side, but the whole idea is that these will carry me through the next 5-10 years.

Here’s what I like about them:

  • Purple!
  • Lots of nylon and rubber, so I actually believe that they are waterproof (unlike all the Keens and Merrells I looked at. I believe them when they say those will keep your feet dry, but not that the leather won’t soak up the water and salt and rot away….)
  • No ridonkulous giant furry trim around the top.
  • They come up high enough. We have about 10 inches of snow on the ground right now. We’re getting 12 more tomorrow. Why do they even bother selling “snow boots” that barely cover your ankles? What’s the point?
  • They supposedly have “eVent” technology to efficiently wick sweat away from your feet. We’ll see.
  • Promising traction and very comfy for walking.

As a bonus triumph, these were the last pair on the clearance table. I snatched them on sight and even though they appear to be a half size too big for me, they fit perfectly (especially if I happen to be wearing very thick socks, which I usually am).

We’re supposed to get a foot of snow tomorrow, so the timing couldn’t be better. Bring it on!

OK, going to take the dog out for a walk now and test them on the rugged sidewalks (no, really) of our gentle city. Happy tromping, one and all!

Post-walk update: These are the best! My feet are toasty and dry, I walked through the deepest snow I could find and it didn’t reach the tops, and they even braced my stupid ankle, which I twisted two and a half weeks ago, but which still hurts when my foot flexes a lot trying to walk over the snow.

2 thoughts on “Chameleon in Boots!

  1. Cute! I have seen more and more boots like this around (on other people’s feet…), and I have been gazing at them longingly. The Lands’ End boots I got a few years back get the job done but aren’t nearly as serious or cool as these. I am also jealous that you have things like REI in your fair city. Get it together, Grand Rapids!

  2. On a not so pleasant note, I sprained my ankle right before I graduated from high school. I think it was 3 or 4 months before it stopped twinging randomly. Hopefully yours heals much more rapidly!

Leave a Reply

